Sunday, November 27, 2011

Tim Winton's Cloudstreet TV series

The adaptation of Tim Winton's novel Cloudstreet to a television drama miniseries is a positive step towards more great Australian literature coming to the screen. Well done to pay-TV movie service Showcase for taking the initiative with this book. The miniseries aired from May 22, 2011 to June 5, 2011 and can now be purchased as a box DVD set. Cloudstreet captures the story of two very different Australian families, living under one roof, and their colourful lives are both tragic and inspiring. The narrative is at times subtle and overt, which engrosses the viewer in a profound and meaningful story. To purchase a copy of any of my books please refer to these links: The Tourist cheapest seller, Brennan Cooper cheapest seller, Boomerang Baseball cheapest seller, and The American Dream: From Perth to Sacramento cheapest seller.

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Underbelly IV: Razor

The fourth installment of the Underbelly franchise, Razor, takes the viewer back to the infancy of organised crime in Sydney, with a focus on bitter rivals Kate Leigh and Tilly Devine, and their illegal enterprises from 1927 to 1936. The costume and set design was perhaps the most challenging of all the series to date, yet this was achieved with convincing authenticity. There are numerous historical extracts woven into the story, which includes: strict gun laws, loopholes in drug laws that allowed dentists to legally purchase cocaine, the rise of the New Guard, exploits of Francis de Groot, insight into the career of one of Australia's first policewomen Lillian May Armfield, and numerous turf wars between Leigh and Devine. It is pleasing that Underbelly continues to give Australian Actors an opportunity to showcase their talents, and is providing viewers with enthralling television drama.

For all my books please refer to these links:

Brennan Cooper

The American Dream: From Perth to Sacramento

The Tourist

Boomerang Baseball

Aussies in the Majors

Aussie Baseball Musings

Henning's Story from 1979 to 1999: A Memoir of Ideas and Inspirations

Aussie World Baseball Classic Experiences from 2006 to 2017

All books also available from United States Amazon